GA CPA Renewal Requirements

The state of Georgia

  • License renewal period every 2 years.
  • 80 hours each renewal period.
  • Annual minimum requirement of 20 hours.

Your CPE requirements

Hours Subject
64 General [click here to see what qualifies]
General subjects include:
  • Accounting and auditing;
  • Taxation;
  • Management Services;
  • Computer sciences;
  • Oral and written communications;
  • Mathematics and statistics;
  • Economics;
  • Business law;
  • Functional fields of business (e.g., finance, production, marketing, personnel relations, business management, and organization);
  • Specialized industries (e.g., real estate, agriculture, construction and financial institutions);
  • Administration of an accounting practice.
16 Auditing and Accounting [click here to see what qualifies]

Accounting-related courses includes courses on generally accepted accounting principles, particularly as they relate to presentation of financial statements.

Auditing-related courses include courses on generally accepted auditing standards, particularly as they relate to reporting on financial statements.

# Total

Please note

  • All required CPE can be acquired through self-study. There is no limit on the number of self-study CPE hours.
  • A licensee who has reached the age of 70 is exempt from CPE requirements.
  • All programs will be measured in terms of twenty-five minute segments (1/2 CPE hour). The shortest recognized program will consist of one contact hour (1 CPE hour).
  • No programs are pre-approved by the Georgia Board. The responsibility for substantiating that a particular program is acceptable and meets the requirements rests solely upon the licensee.


Georgia State Board of Accountancy

237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858

Phone: (478) 207-2440
Fax: (478) 314-5805

Share with friends

If you've found this site helpful, please pass us on. If you have any feedback, feel free to contact us at Thanks and may your Debits equal your Credits!